We’ve been here before, haven’t we?

I confess, I miss being able to sit on one side of a political fence. Not because I’ve lost all political opinion – I just think that the fence is the best place to be right now. The bulls are running and the people are mad.

So, instead of talking about how the Catholic Church is keeping Gloria in power, I think it’s time to think about the flip side: what will happen if the tide does turn and the world’s last Aspergian President does resign.

Should the President do the unthinkable and resign (she seems to be intent on hanging on until 2010 or until they return to a parliamentary system – whichever is later), the Vice-President must fulfill his only Constitutional duty and get sworn in as the new President. At that point, the former President will shed all her sovereign immunity and be just another ordinary citizen just like you and me.

That’s when the dogs will strike, I should think. All those mistakes in office – remember that whistleblower whose life she ruined because Her Highness refused to admit that she made a mistake? She’s going to be open to civil and criminal prosecution when she leaves Malacañang. That is, of course if Noli doesn’t do a Gloria and offers her a pardon before her plunder trial ends. Mark my words – there will be a plunder trial. Whether or not she gets offered a pardon depends on how stable her political machinery is after the election. With JDV out of her camp, I highly doubt that.

As I write this, GMA continues to spend her day filled with the concerns of local officials. I think that her spin on everything will be that outside of Manila, the fervor to get her out of office is far less than it is in Makati. This may or may not be true, but if the rally that’s forming on Ayala Avenue keeps on growing (until Monday, when the markets are supposed to open), then that’s the time when I think push will come to shove.

Speaking of JDV, I think he’s just like all the other local officials – more or less a Malacañang toady until he figures out that he can strike it out on his own. It’s amazing how much these local government officials (Governors, Congressmen, and below) kowtow to Malacañang. It’s not like they have any other choice. Unless your town has a high IRA (like say, Makati) and you can tell the national government to go screw themselves, you really have to dance as the Palace dictates. It’s easy to see examples of local governments that fail to toe the line. Father Panlilio in Pampanga and Grace Padaca of Isabela come to mind. They’ve been doing great guns without Malacañang help, but aside from the heartwarming story at election time (and the occasional Malacañang payola), the media circus does its best to forget them.

I’m curious about the military. It’s trying so hard to be professional but it seems to have forgotten how to do it. I imagine that it will take a Chief of Staff whose training comes entirely from this period of relative freedoms before we see any real military intelligence, if you catch what I mean.

So anyway, this is all nothing to me but a passing interest. I refuse to sit on any side of this political divide because no one is really fighting for anything except a cleanup of government – which is laughingly funny when you think about it because it’s what everyone says when they campaign for office. Besides, I remember Bobby Dacer and the former President’s own black magic. Funny how time makes one forget. In other words, I’m still on the fence, and someone still has to come along to force me off it.

In the meantime, my best friend has switched to Ubuntu. He’s sworn off Microsoft forever. How’s that for conviction?

6 thoughts on “We’ve been here before, haven’t we?”

  1. Street protestations (after we as a nation so heroically bastardized the idea of EDSA) have been reduced to a mere form of expression best suitable in protesting the use of fur, for example.

  2. Truly, Dante Alighieri is right: The darkest places in hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis.

  3. Moral crisis is correct. I’m having problems joining a morality crusade summoned by the immoral. If people can’t see how they’re being manipulated by these smooth political operatives for their own gain, then I have a problem with them too.

  4. A lot of people, myself included, didn’t join the protest rally for Lozada, or Erap, or the bishops, or even Cory. Many rallied for themselves, and maybe for their kids, because they can’t stand the massive corruption and the blatant lies and the misuse of state power anymore. I can see through the motives of some politicians, as many others do, but I’m not doing this for them. You see evil wreaking havoc and corrupting everything, you speak out against it. You fight it. You don’t wimp out and make excuses.

    Now if ever GMA goes, and the next administration turns out to be massively evil as well, then we remain vigilant. We should hold them accountable as well. We keep on trying. That’s life.

  5. Well, if you put it that way, then I’m with you. I never did say that I’m against holding them accountable. What I am against is saying that what the opposition trapo is doing to the great frustrated (including, as it were, us) is fine and dandy.

Leave a Reply

