My Wedding

I got married on May 23, 2003. That’s almost four years ago now.

Poseur-romantics out there will be disappointed to learn that I did not have a wedding that is in some way similar to the Bekhtaz-Guttierez “wedding” that had girls swooning from Eastwood to Tawi-Tawi.

What is it with Ruffa Guttierez anyway? She’s cheap and tacky and nothing she can do can remove that tag. I refuse to have my wedding butchered in that manner. I will not have cheap and tacky at my wedding.

We did not have the Philippine Philharmonic serenade us at our reception. We did not have five hundred guests. We did not have the land’s most prominent celebrities endorse our wedding. We did not have celebrities as readers nor did we have any celebrity hosts at our reception. We did not fill Shangri-la’s Garden Ballroom with well wishers.

In fact, we were underwhelmed with the gifts we got. Who cares?

What I got was the funniest, most entertaining, most hilarious, and happiest wedding I’ve ever seen. Check that. That’s what WE got. It’s great to finally get to use that pronoun when referring to ourselves.

Resistance is futile.

Anyway, I’m sure my buddies got a great deal out of the whole shindig. They did go back to the buffet table five times (at least by my count). The presidential table made more noise during the reception than a bunch of wild third graders. The whole entourage got drunk before midnight. By the time we gave our thank you speech, no one was listening not because they didn’t care, but because they were too bloated to notice anything else. As we all staggered to the room, the only thing in my head was the thought that I was glad to be alive. The next day, after all the guests had left, we realized the meaning of round 8, as in round 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8. After eight years of being together you’d think we’d have gotten past this, but no (happily for me).

I don’t think we could’ve asked for anything more.

Originally posted May 26, 2003 in some other website, with some slight editing. 🙂 That other website’s redesign gutted everything in its archives, including my older writing.

3 thoughts on “My Wedding”

  1. Just dropping by. I clicked from the YM link and found myself here! Wow. Did you realize now that you actually wrote about Ruffa’s wedding less than two months after she filed for divorce? :p I didn’t get to watch last Sunday. Have had too much of Ruffa!

  2. I wrote it first three days after I got married, partly because people kept asking me if my wedding was Ruffa-like.

    WTF, right? Of course it wasn’t. 🙂

Leave a Reply

