Surprise!

I found a roll of film today.

That happens a lot: me finding a roll of film I forgot to develop for some reason or another It’s my fault, really. I hate insisting that someone be in front of the camera whenever I take a shot. That’s what my Dad always insists whenever I have to take pictures. Otherwise, he believes, it’s just wasting film. I, on the other hand, like to take what everyone calls postcard pictures. Some sights in this world are just simply amazing by themselves. As a result, I take loads of film cans whenever I go out. You just never know when you’ll come across that perfect shot. It just happens.

I found the roll while cleaning out a drawer that had been doing nothing but accumulating dust and broken down computer parts. My sister helped me sort through the things because she wanted to see if she can salvage anything from my pile of junk. She was the one who saw the film can.

“You’re not going to get anything from that roll, bro. It’s probably expired or something. I’ll bet everything’s a bit yellow, if anything. It’s not like you expect HER to be in those prints, right?”

“Of course not,” said I, suddenly on the defensive,

Being the stubborn mule that I am, I insisted on getting the film developed today. Finding lost film rolls is like opening a time capsule.-All of a sudden you get memories you thought you had lost a long time ago. The roll looked good to me, but she was right. The roll was bad, and the yellow hue had made some of the better shots turn bad. As I leafed through the yellowish-shitty prints, I froze.

“I told you so,” said the tactless one.

Leave a Reply

